YouTube Guide: How To Save A Queue As A Playlist


Save a YouTube queue
How to permanently save a YouTube video queue by converting it to a playlist in order to be able to watch it later or to share it with others.

Introduction

While using YouTube, you can prepare videos to watch next with the help of a queue.

A queue is created as soon as you click on ADD TO QUEUE displayed when hovering over a video thumbnail or using the three dot menu. You can continue watching content in an always on top miniplayer while setting up the queue.

Add YouTube videos to a queue

After creating a queue, you may want to share it with your friends or others, or maybe you just want a way to save it in order to continue watching it later.

The problem is that there is no link to the actual queue and it's lost once you close your browser.

You can follow the instructions below to add your queue's videos either to an existing playlist, or to a new playlist in order to store them permanently on your account or to share them with others.

Note: If the some playlist options are missing, you can follow this tutorial to restore them.

Add a queue to an existing playlist

The instructions of this section can be applied to any existing playlist, including Watch Later.

If the queue is expanded and you already are viewing a full video page:

  1. Click on SAVE from the top of the playlist
  2. Check the Watch later checkbox

If the queue is not expanded:

  1. Click on the up arrow from the bottom of the miniplayer
  2. Click on SAVE from the top of the miniplayer playlist
  3. Check the Watch later checkbox

Accessing the playlist

If you added the videos to the Watch later playlist, you can access it as follows:

  1. Click on the guide button from the top left of any YouTube page
  2. Select Watch later from the displayed sidebar menu

If you added the videos to an existing playlist, you can access it as follows:

  1. Click on the guide button from the top left of any YouTube page
  2. Select Library from the displayed sidebar menu
  3. Scroll down to the Playlists section. Your playlist is displayed here

Click on `SAVE` from the full video page
Click on `SAVE` from the full video page
Existing playlist - 2- Check the 'Watch later' checkbox
Check the 'Watch later' checkbox
Existing playlist - 3- If the video is not expanded, click on the up arrow from the bottom of the miniplayer
If the video is not expanded, click on the up arrow from the bottom of the miniplayer
Existing playlist - 4- Click on 'SAVE' from the top of the miniplayer's playlist
Click on 'SAVE' from the top of the miniplayer's playlist
Existing playlist - 5- Check the 'Watch later' checkbox
Check the 'Watch later' checkbox
Existing playlist - 6- Select 'Watch later' from the sidebar menu
Select 'Watch later' from the sidebar menu
Existing playlist - 7- Watch later playlist
Watch later playlist

Add a queue to a new playlist

  1. Click on SAVE either from the full video page or from miniplayer's expanded playlist (as demonstrated in the previous section)
  2. Select Create new playlist
  3. Enter the playlist's name
  4. Choose the playlist's visibility: private, unlisted or public. The next section will describe how you can choose between these options
  5. Click on CREATE
  6. Click on SAVE a second time from the same page
  7. Check your playlist's checkbox

The videos are now added to your new playlist.

You can access this playlist any time as follows:

  1. Click on the guide button from the top left of any YouTube page
  2. Select Library from the displayed sidebar menu
  3. Scroll down to the Playlists section. The newly created playlist will be displayed here

Click on `SAVE` from the full video page
Click on `SAVE` from the full video page
New playlist - 2- Create a new playlist
Create a new playlist
New playlist - 3- Enter the playlist's name
Enter the playlist's name
New playlist - 4- Choose the playlist's visibility
Choose the playlist's visibility
Click on `SAVE` from the full video page
Click on `SAVE` from the full video page
New playlist - 6- Check your playlist's checkbox
Check your playlist's checkbox
New playlist - 7- The videos are now added to your playlist
The videos are now added to your playlist
New playlist - 8- Click on the guide button from the top left, then select 'Library'
Click on the guide button from the top left, then select 'Library'
New playlist - 9- Scroll down to the Playlists section. The playlist is displayed here
Scroll down to the Playlists section. The playlist is displayed here

Share a playlist with others

In order to share a queue with others, you must convert it to a playlist as demonstrated in the previous sections.

After that, you have to change the playlist's privacy settings to set it to either unlisted or public (these steps can be skipped if you already selected the correct visibility while creating a new playlist):

  1. Click on the guide button from the top left of any YouTube page
  2. Select Library from the displayed sidebar menu
  3. Scroll down to the Playlists section
  4. Click on VIEW FULL PLAYLIST from the bottom of your playlist
  5. Select the privacy dropdown menu below the playlist's title
  6. Choose either unlisted or public
    • An unlisted playlist can be accessed by anyone who has the link, but will not be displayed in your channel or on the search results
    • A public playlist can be displayed in YouTube's search results and with your channel's playlists

You can now copy your playlist's link by right clicking the thumbnail and selecting Copy link address from the context menu either from the full playlist page or from Playlists section of the library page.


Share playlist - 1- Click on 'VIEW FULL PLAYLIST' from the bottom of your playlist in the 'Library' page
Click on 'VIEW FULL PLAYLIST' from the bottom of your playlist in the 'Library' page
Share playlist - 2- Select the privacy dropdown menu below the playlist's title
Select the privacy dropdown menu below the playlist's title
Share playlist - 3- Choose either unlisted or public
Choose either unlisted or public
Share playlist - 4- Right click the thumbnail and select 'Copy link address'
Right click the thumbnail and select 'Copy link address'